English | Francais
#
#

Foire aux questions pour les patients

  • FeraMAXMD 150 est un supplément de fer par voie orale formulé avec des polysaccharides dans un complexe stable. Le produit est fabriqué par un processus spécialisé, alors que le fer est recouvert de polysaccharides (amidons/sucres). Ce revêtement permet le passage relativement intact du fer dans l’estomac, où il est absorbé par l’intestin grêle puis dans la circulation sanguine.
  • FeraMAXMD est une poudre brune foncée qui se dissout dans l'eau pour former une solution brune très foncée.
  • La solution est pratiquement insipide et inodore.
  • C’est un complexe organique ne contenant aucun ion libre, aussi décrit comme étant non ionique.
  • En raison de son revêtement polysaccharide (matrice), il est électriquement neutre.
  • Les réglementations de Santé Canada stipulent que tous les suppléments de fer par voie orale sont maintenant enregistrés comme étant des produits de santé naturels, plutôt qu’en vertu de l’ancien système qui leur assignait une Identification numérique de drogue (DIN). Le DIN de tous les produits contenant du fer par voie orale actuellement sur le marché a été abandonné et leurs identifications numériques réassignées à la DPSN (Direction des produits de santé naturels). Le numéro approuvé pour FeraMAXMD 150 est NPN 80013210. Le numéro approuvé pour la poudre FeraMAXMD 150 est NPN 80033717.
  • FeraMAXMD est un fer très puissant qui est bien absorbé et bien toléré.
  • FeraMAXMD 150 ne contient pas de lactose, de gluten ou de composés sulfuriques dans ses formulations. Ce sont les ingrédients qui inquiètent le plus souvent les patients. Il contient des colorants artificiels et des quantités infimes de sodium.
  • FeraMAXMD Poudre ne contient pas de gluten, de lactose, de composés sulfuriques et d’alcool.
  • BioSyent Pharma a le plaisir d’annoncer le lancement de nos capsules FeraMAXMD 150 certifiées végétaliennes. Ces capsules renferment le même ingrédient actif - notre complexe polysaccharide-fer innovateur. La capsule avec gélatine d’origine bovine a été remplacée par une capsule d’hydroxypropylméthylcellulose (HPMC) certifiée pour l’alimentation végétalienne et végétarienne.
  • Ce logo VegeCert prouve que notre produit a été vérifié et examiné par les inspecteurs du Conseil cacheroute du Canada (COR). Ces inspecteurs visitent nos installations de fabrication pour s’assurer que FeraMAXMD 150 est conforme aux normes élevées de VegeCert.
  • La poudre FeraMAXMD ne contient aucun sous-produit animal.
  • Beaucoup de suppléments de fer par voie orale devraient être pris sur un estomac vide, ce qui augmente par contre la probabilité d’effets indésirables. En raison de sa formulation et de son mécanisme d’absorption, on peut prendre FeraMAXMD 150 avec ou sans aliments. Il est préférable de prendre FeraMAXMD150 à la même heure chaque jour
  • La poudre FeraMAXMDest dosée à 15 mg de fer élémentaire par 1/4 de cuillère à thé. Veuillez cliquer ici pour accéder à la page d’information sur la posologie. La poudre FeraMAXMD peut être dissoute dans de l’eau ou du jus, ou mélangée à des aliments mous ou des céréales en poudre.
  • FeraMAXMD150 est disponible en bouteille de 100 capsules ou dans un emballage de 30 capsules.
  • La poudre FeraMAXMD est disponible en bouteille de 83 grammes.
  • Chaque bouteille de 83 g de poudre FeraMAXMD renferme 1 800 mg de fer élémentaire, équivalant à 120 doses de 15 mg de fer élémentaire.
  • Oui, la poudre FeraMAXMD est sécuritaire pour les bébés et les jeunes enfants
  • Non, la poudre FeraMAXMD ne tachera pas les dents.
  • Non, la poudre FeraMAXMD n’a pas un goût métallique, étant donné que notre complexe polysaccharide-fer est insipide. De plus, nous avons ajouté un goût agréable de raisin/ framboise
  • Tous les produits de fer par voie orale sont réglementés par la Direction des produits de santé naturelle et de ce fait, n’ont plus d’Identication numérique de drogue (DIN), mais plutôt un Numéro de produit de santé naturel (NPN). Les NPN ne sont généralement pas couverts par les régimes d’assurance médicaments. Certains régimes d’assurance médicaments défraient les suppléments de fer par voie orale; nous vous conseillons donc de contacter votre assureur pour vous informer de ce qui est couvert.
  • FeraMAXMD 150 et la poudre FeraMAXMD sont disponibles à travers le Canada par l’entremise des principaux grossistes et distributeurs pharmaceutiques qui approvisionnent les pharmacies.

Pour plus d’information, veuillez contacter le Service à la clientèle de BioSyent Pharma au 1.888.439.0013
ou par courriel à customerservice@biosyent.com

English | Francais
#
#

Frequently Asked Questions by Patients

  • FeraMAX® 150 is available in a bottle of 100 capsules or carton of 30 capsules.
  • FeraMAX® Powder is available in an 83 g bottle.
  • FeraMAX® 150 is an oral iron supplement formulated with polysaccharides in a stable complex. It is manufactured by a specialized process whereby the iron is coated with polysaccharides (starches/sugars). This coating allows the iron to pass through the stomach relatively intact where it is absorbed through the small intestine and is then delivered to the bloodstream.
  • It is a dark brown powder which, when dissolved in water forms a very dark brown solution.
  • It is virtually tasteless and odorless.
  • It is an organic complex and contains no free ions, also described as being non-ionic.
  • Due to the polysaccharide coating (matrix) it is electrically neutral.

Yes! FeraMAX® 150 is the original PIC in Canada.

The original polysaccharide-iron-complex (PIC) was from Schwartz Pharma, which developed, manufactured, and launched the first PIC under the brand name Niferex. Schwartz ultimately transferred its manufacturing rights of this PIC molecule to a third party and Niferex was subsequently discontinued in Canada.

BioSyent Pharma contracted the manufacturing exclusivity of this PIC molecule and then continued to manufacture the product under a new brand, namely FeraMAX®. Consequently, as it is derived directly from the original manufacturing process of PIC, FeraMAX® is the original PIC molecule.

Currently FeraMAX® is the only iron supplement manufactured in a North American FDA approved facility.

Subsequently, there have been several “Branded Generic” PICs launched in Canada trying to leverage the success of this formulation that provides less side effects and convenient once a day dosing.

  • Health Canada regulations stipulate that all oral iron supplements are now registered as Natural Heath Products and not under the old system of assigning them a Drug Identification Number (DIN). All oral iron products currently on the market have had their DIN’s discontinued and their numbers reassigned to the NHPD (Natural Health Product Directorate).The approval number for FeraMAX® 150 is NPN 80013210.The approval number for FeraMAX® Powder is NPN 80033717.
  • FeraMAX® is a high potency iron that is well absorbed and well tolerated.
  • FeraMAX® 150 does not contain lactose, gluten or sulphuric compounds in its formulations. These are the most common ingredients that patients are concerned about. It does contain artificial coloring agents and trace amounts of sodium.
  • FeraMAX® Powder is free of gluten, lactose, sulphuric compounds and alcohol.
  • BioSyent Pharma is pleased to announce the launch of our Vegan Certified FeraMAX® 150 capsules. The capsules have the same active ingredient - our innovative Polysaccharide-Iron Complex. The bovine capsule has been replaced with a hydroxypropylmethylcellulose (HPMC) capsule that is suitable for vegan and vegetarian lifestyles.
  • This VegeCert logo proves that our product has been audited and inspected by inspectors from Kashruth Council of Canada (COR). These inspectors visit our manufacturing facilities to ensure that FeraMAX® 150 conforms to VegeCert’s high standards.
  • FeraMAX® Powder does not contain any animal by-product.
  • Many oral iron supplements should be taken on an empty stomach; however this increases the likelihood of adverse side effects. Due to its formulation and how it is absorbed, FeraMAX® 150 can be given with or without food. It is best to take FeraMAX® 150 at the same time each day.
  • FeraMAX® Powder is dosed at 15mg of elemental iron per 1/4 teaspoon. Please click here to go to the Dosing Information page. Dissolve FeraMAX® Powder in water/juice or mix in soft foods or powdered cereal.
  • In an 83 g bottle of FeraMAX® Powder, there is 1800 mg of elemental iron which equals 120 x 15 mg doses of elemental iron.
  • Yes, FeraMAX® Powder is safe for babies and children.
  • No, FeraMAX® Powder will not stain teeth.
  • No, FeraMAX® Powder does not have a metallic taste as our polysaccharide-iron complex is tasteless. We have added a pleasant tasting grape/raspberry flavour.
  • All oral iron products are regulated by Natural Health Product Directorate and thus no longer have a Drug Identification Number (DIN) but rather a Natural Health Product Number (NPN). NPN’s are generally not being covered by drug plans. Some drug plans cover oral iron supplements so we advise to contact your Insurance Company and enquire about coverage.
  • FeraMAX® is available across Canada and supplied by all major pharmacy wholesalers/distributors to pharmacies.
  • FeraMAX® 150 capsules can be opened carefully over the sink, and the contents mixed into a glass of water or sprinkled over soft foods.
    • • Medicinal ingredient: Polysaccharide-iron complex
    • • Non-medicinal ingredients: carrageenan, D&C Red #28, D&C Yellow #10, FD&C Red #40, hypromellose, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, potassium chloride, and titanium dioxide.
  • FeraMAX® 150 capsules can be opened carefully over the sink, and the contents mixed into a glass of water or sprinkled over soft foods.
    • • Medicinal ingredient: Polysaccharide-iron complex
    • • Non-medicinal ingredients: Grape and Raspberry flavouring, maltodextrin, and sucralose.

Please contact BioSyent Pharma Customer Service at 1-888-439-0013
or email customerservice@biosyent.com for more information.