English | Francais
#
#

La science et la sécurité du complexe polysaccharide-fer (CPF)

Le fer est un des minéraux les plus abondants du globe, mais la carence en fer est la carence nutritionnelle la plus répandue ; cela est partiellement dû au mécanisme de l'absorption du fer.

Le fer alimentaire se présente sous deux formes:

  • Sous forme hémique se retrouvé dans la viande et dans le poisson et il est facilement absorbé
  • Sous forme non hémique se retrouve dans les céréales, haricots et épinard et il est moins bien absorbé

Seulement de petites quantités de fer sont absorbées par l'intestin grêle, et le fer non hémique doit être transformé dans fer ferreux préalablement et lié à un transporteur pour passer de l'intestin dans la circulation sanguine. Une fois dans la circulation sanguine, le fer est utilisé dans la moelle osseuse pour fabriquer l’hémoglobine; le fer en excès est stocké principalement dans le foie et dans la rate sous forme de ferritine.

La carence en fer est très répandue et compromet la santé, la cognition, la productivité et la longévité. L'Organisation Mondiale de la Santé a calculé que 30% de la population mondiale souffre d'anémie, souvent en raison d'une carence en fer.

Les personnes les plus à risque sont:

  • Les nourrissons et les enfants
  • Les filles et les femmes menstruées
  • Femmes enceintes
  • Femmes en préménopause
  • Vegetarians
  • Patients subissant une hémodialyse
  • Personnes ayant subi une chirurgie de pontage gastrique ou chirurgie bariatrique
  • Personnes atteintes du VIH-SIDA ou du paludisme.

Pour toutes les personnes atteintes, la supplémentation en fer est nécessaire pour restaurer la santé et la fonction normale.

Les suppléments de fer sont soit en fer ferreux (Fe 2 +) ou ferriques (Fe 3 +). Selon Santé Canada (1), l'apport quotidien recommandé pour les personnes en bonne santé est 8-11 mg / jour pour les hommes, 18 mg / jour pour les femmes en âge de procréer, 27 mg / jour pour les femmes enceintes et 8 mg / jour pour les autres femmes. Selon les recommandations du médecin, ces doses peuvent être augmentées pour les personnes avec une carence en fer. Les suppléments de fer sont généralement fabriqués comme des sels de fer, tels que le fumarate ferreux, le sulfate ferreux, et le gluconate ferreux. Une formulation unique de fer a été introduite sur le marché canadien : Complexe polysaccharide-fer (CPF), trouvé dans c. Par rapport à toutes les autres formes de suppléments de fer, CPF offre la plus haute dose de fer avec 150 mg de fer élémentaire ; le fumarate ferreux délivre environ 100 mg, le sulfate ferreux et le gluconate ferreux délivrent 65 et 35 mg respectivement.

Nombreux individus souffrent d'effets secondaires causés par les suppléments de fer, y compris des nausées, vomissements, douleurs épigastriques, et la constipation (Manoguerra et al. 2005). Les sels de fer à libération rapide tels que le fumarate ferreux et le sulfate ferreux ont été associés à une incidence plus élevée d'effets secondaires indésirables. Les personnes qui éprouvent ces effets secondaires sont moins susceptibles de respecter la posologie et la fréquence recommandées par leur médecin (Melamed et al. 2007). Cela peut conduire à une grave détérioration de la santé, en particulier pour les femmes enceintes et les nourrissons.

L'innovation de composés de fer qui ont une plus grande biodisponibilité et moins d'effets secondaires a conduit à la fabrication d’un complexe polysaccharide-fer (CPF) (Montgomery et Jhaveri, 1974) telle que FeraMAXMD. Dans ce processus, le CPF est synthétisée par le mélange du chlorure ferrique et un saccharide avec de l'eau, en créant un produit neutre et insoluble avec un pH de 4.0 à 4.6, mais chargé positivement et soluble à pH < 4,0 (Bereman et Berg, 1989). Il est ainsi digéré facilement dans le système gastrique humain. L’analyse de la diffraction de la poudre du CPF aux rayons X a révélé qu'il avait la structure d'une ferrihydrite (ᵝ-FeOOH) très similaire à la protéine de stockage du fer, la ferritine (Bereman et Berg, 1989) (Coe et al, 1995a, 1995b). Le fait que le CPF ressemble aux transporteurs endogènes de fer pourrait expliquer sa biodisponibilité élevée et les effets secondaires réduits, car il est déjà dans une formulation qui est facilement absorbé. CPF offre la plus grande concentration de fer biodisponible, 150 mg, avec la plus faible incidence d'effets secondaires indésirables rapporté.

La supplémentation en fer peut être bénéfique pour la santé, mais elle peut aussi causer la toxicité ferreuse et des effets secondaires. Les humains contrôlent les niveaux de fer en augmentant ou diminuant l'absorption du fer dans l'intestin en fonction des besoins de l'organisme. Le fer est éliminé à un rythme régulier et il n'existe aucun mécanisme pour accélérer l'élimination du fer en cas de surdosage. Les niveaux élevés de fer peuvent endommager les tissus parce que le fer favorise la formation de radicaux libres. La toxicité est également un problème potentiel pour les nourrissons et les enfants âpres avoir reçu des suppléments de fer et, par conséquent, ils reçoivent généralement des suppléments de fer sous forme liquide.

Les doses élevées de fer peuvent être toxiques, surtout pour les enfants. CPF a une toxicité faible par rapport aux composés de sels de fer (Klein-Schwartz, 2000). La DL a était mesurée a DL50. Voir le tableau ci-dessous.

La DL50 du CPF chez les rats n'a pas été établie, car aucun décès n'est survenu au cours d'une étude de toxicologie. Chez les enfants, le surdosage accidentel de fer a causé plus de 30% de tous les décès dus à l'ingestion accidentelle de médicaments entre 1983 et 1991 (Manoguerra et al. 2005). Dans une étude portant sur 810 cas d'ingestion potentiellement toxique du CPF qui ont été signalés aux centres de l’American Association of Poison Control/ l’Association américaine antipoison, aucun effet indésirable grave n'a pas été rapporté pour aucun de ces cas (Klein-Schwartz, 2000). Cette analyse indique une très faible toxicité du CPF par rapport aux autres suppléments à base de sels de fer.

Pour résumer, le fer est un nutriment essentiel pour le maintien d'une bonne santé, et certaines personnes ont besoin de suppléments de fer. Les suppléments de fer sous forme de sels ferreux (fumarate ferreux et le sulfate ferreux) ont des effets secondaires indésirables tels que des douleurs épigastriques, nausées, vomissements et constipation. En raison de ces effets secondaires, certaines personnes cessent prendre le supplément recommandé par leurs médecins, ce qui affecte négativement leur santé. Il a été développé un supplément de fer plus tolérable qui offre une concentration élevée de fer biodisponible avec des effets secondaires réduits ou absents ; ce produit est un complexe polysaccharide-fer (CPF) similaire à la ferrihydrite ou a une protéine intracellulaire, la ferritine. FeraMAXMD 150 et FeraMAXMD Poudre (poudre au goût agréable) sont des CPF et n’ont pratiquement pas d'effets secondaires indésirables. Les suppléments de complexe polysaccharide-fer sont largement prescrits par les médecins pour traiter l'anémie, la carence en fer liée à la grossesse et à l’anémie infantile chez les prématuré, ainsi que la supplémentation en fer pour les personnes ayant pontage gastrique ou chirurgies bariatriques, et ceux sous dialyse. (Johnson et al., 1992; Glassman, 1992; Markowitz et al., 1997; Naude et al., 2000; Zhang et al., 2012). Des témoignages non confirmé de certains de ces individus sur les forums virtuels sur la santé publique révèle un fort soutien du CPF comme FeraMAXMD parmi les utilisateurs en raison de leur efficacité, et l'absence d'effets secondaires indésirables.

Références

  • 1- Site de Santé Canada: http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/alt_formats/hpfb-dgpsa/pdf/nutrition/dri_tables-eng.pdf
  • Bereman, R.D., Berg, K.A. (1989) The structure, size and solution chemistry of a polysaccharide iron complex (niferex). InorganicaChimicaActa, 155, pp. 183-189.
  • Beshara, S., Sorensen, J., Lubberink, M., Tolmachev, V., Langstrom, B., Antoni, G., Danielson, B.G., Lundqvist, H. (2003) Pharmacokinetics and red cell utilization of 52Fe/59Fe-labelled iron polymaltose in anaemic patients using positron emission tomography. British Journal of Haematology, 120(5), pp. 853-859.
  • Coe, E.M., Bowen, L.H., Speer, J.A., Wang, Z., Sayers, D.E., Bereman, R.D. (1995a) Therecharacterization of a polysaccharide iron complex (niferex). Journal of Inorganic Biochemistry, 58(4), 269-278.
  • Coe, E.M., Bowen, L.H., Speer, J.A., Bereman, R.D. (1995b) Comparison of polysaccharide iron complexes used as iron supplements/ Comparaison des complexes polysaccharide-fer utilisés comme fer suppléments Journal of Inorganic Biochemistry, 57(4), pp./ Journal de Biochimie inorganiques. 57(4), pp 287-292.
  • Glassman, E. (1992) Oral iron therapy with ferrous fumarate and polysaccharide iron complex/ Thérapie fer par voie orale avec le fumarate ferreux et complexe polysaccharide-fer . ANNA Journal, 19(3), pp. 277-278.
  • Johnson, C.A., Rosowski, E., Zimmerman, S.W. (1992) A prospective open-label study evaluating the efficacy and adverse reactions of the use of Niferex-150 in ESRD patients receiving EPOGEN /Une étude prospective évaluant l'efficacité et les effets indésirables de l'utilisation de Niferex-150 chez les patients IRCT traites par EPOGEN] Adavnaces in Peritoneal Dialysis, 8, pp./Les progrès de la dialyse péritonéale, 8, pp 444-447.
  • Klein-Schwartz, W. Toxicity of polysaccharide-iron complex exposures reported to poison control centers. /Toxicité à la suite de l'exposition au complexe polysaccharide- fer signalé aux centres antipoison. The Annals of Pharmacotherapy, 34, pp. 165-169.
  • Manoguerra, A.S., et al. Iron Ingestion: an evidence -based consensus guideline for out-of-hospital management /L’ingestion du fer : une ligne directrice consensuelle fondées sur des preuves pour le management hors de l'hôpital. Clinical Toxicology, 43, 553-570.
  • Markowitz, G.S., Kahn, G.A., Feingold, R.E., Coco, M., Lynn, R.I. An evaluation of the effectiveness of oral iron therapy in hemodialysis patients receiving recombinant human erythropoietin./ Une évaluation de l'efficacité thérapeutique du fer par voie orale chez les patients hémodialysés recevant l'érythropoïétine humaine recombinante. Clinal Nephrology, 48(1), pp. 34-40.
  • Melamed, N., Ben-Haroush, A., Kaplan, B., Yogev, Y. (2007) Iron supplementation in pregnancy – Does the preparation matter ?/ La supplémentation en fer pendant la grossesse - Est la préparation importante ? Archives Gynecological Obstetrics, 276(6), pp. 601-604.
  • Merriman, T.N. (1994) An acute oral toxicity study in rats with polysaccharide iron complex/ Étude d'une toxicité orale aiguë chez des rats causée par un complexe polysaccharide-fer. Springborn Laboratories Life Science Division Study No. 3340.1, pp. 1-40.
  • Montgomery K.O., Jhaveri, C.R. (1974) Process for preparing an iron-saccharide complex./Procédé de préparation d'un complexe saccharide-fer. United States Patent 260/209R, 260/209D, 424/361.
  • Naude, S., Clijsen, S., Naulaers, G., Daniels, H., Vanhole, C., Devlieger, H. (2000) Iron supplementation in preterm infants: A study comparing the effect and tolerance of a Fe2+ and a nonionic Fe III compound. / La supplémentation en fer chez les nourrissons prématurés: Une étude comparant l'effet et la tolérance d'une Fe2 + et FeIII non ionique composé. Journal of Clinical Pharmacology, 40, pp. 1447-1451.
  • Pfizer. (2007) Material safety data sheet: Ferrous fumarate./ Fiche signalétique: Fumarate ferreux.
  • 2- http://www.pfizer.com/files/products/material_safety_data/609.pdf [Accessed 11 December 2012]. Teckcominco. Material safety data sheet: Ferrous fumarate./ Fiche signalétique: Sulfate ferreux.
  • 3- http://agripacific.com/VendorStuff/MontereyChem/msds/FeSulTCHept1203m.pdf [Accessed 11 December 2012].
  • Zhang, Z.S., Wang, X.M., Han, Z.P., Yin, L., Zhao, M.X., Yu, S.C. (2012) Physicochemical properties and inhibition effect on iron deficiency anaemia of a novel polysaccharide-iron complex (LPPC)./ Propriétés physico-chimiques et effet inhibitive sur l'anémie par carence en fer d'un nouveau complexe polysaccharide- fer. Bioinorganic Medical Chemistry Letters, 22(1), pp. 489-492.

English | Francais
#
#
science and iron

Science and Safety of
Polysaccharide-Iron Complex (PIC)

Iron is one of the most common minerals on the planet, yet iron deficiency is paradoxically the most prevalent nutritional deficiency; some of this is due to the mechanism of iron absorption.

Dietary iron comes in two forms:

  • Heme form found in meat and fish is readily absorbed
  • Non-heme form found in cereals, beans and spinach is less readily absorbed

Only small quantities of iron are absorbed in the small intestine at a time, and non-heme iron needs to be transformed into its ferrous form and bound to a transporter to pass from the gut into the bloodstream. Once in the bloodstream, iron is used in the bone marrow to make hemoglobin and the excess iron is stored as ferritin primarily in the liver and some in the spleen.

Iron deficiency is widespread and severely compromises health, cognition, productivity, and longevity. The World Health Organization calculates that 30% of the world’s population suffers from anemia, many due to iron deficiency.

Those at greatest risk include:

  • Infants and children
  • Menstruating girls and women
  • Pregnant women
  • Premenopausal women
  • Vegetarians and vegans
  • Patients undergoing hemodialysis
  • Individuals who have had gastric bypass or bariatric surgery
  • Those with HIV/AIDS or malaria.

For these affected individuals, iron supplementation is necessary to restore health and function.

Supplemental iron can be provided in ferrous (Fe2+) or ferric (Fe3+) forms. The recommended daily allowance for healthy individuals, according to Health Canada, is 8-11 mg/day for men, 18 mg/day for women of childbearing age, 27 mg/day for pregnant women and 8 mg/day for other women. These doses can be increased for individuals with iron deficiency after consulting with a doctor. Iron supplements are generally manufactured as iron salts, such as ferrous fumarate, ferrous sulfate, and ferrous gluconate. A new iron formulation called Polysaccharide-Iron Complex (PIC), found in FeraMAX®, was introduced to the Canadian market. Of these, PIC delivers the highest dose of iron with 150 mg of elemental iron; ferrous fumarate delivers approximately 100 mg, with ferrous sulfate and ferrous gluconate delivering 65 and 35 mg respectively.

Many individuals suffer from the side effects of iron supplements, which include nausea, vomiting, epigastric pain, and constipation (Manoguerra et al., 2005). The rapid-release iron salts such as ferrous fumarate and ferrous sulfate have been associated with a higher incidence of unwanted side effects. Individuals experiencing these side effects are less likely to adhere to the recommended dosage and frequency prescribed by their physician (Melamed et al., 2007). This can lead to a serious deterioration of health, especially for pregnant women and infants.

The innovation of iron compounds that have greater bioavailability and fewer side effects led to the production of polysaccharide-iron complex (PIC) (Montgomery and Jhaveri, 1974) such as FeraMAX. In this process, PIC is synthesized by mixing ferric chloride and a saccharide with water, creating a product neutral and insoluble between pH 4.0–4.6, but positively charged and soluble at pH4.0 (Bereman and Berg, 1989). This makes it suitable to be digested in the human gastric system. X-ray powder diffraction analysis of the PIC revealed that it had the structure of a ferrihydrite (ᵝ-FeOOH) closely resembling the body’s natural iron binding protein, ferritin (Bereman and Berg, 1989) (Coe et al., 1995a, 1995b). The fact that the PIC closely resembles endogenous carriers of iron could account for its high bioavailability and reduced side effects as it is already in a readily absorbed formulation. PIC delivers the highest concentration of bioavailable iron,150 mg, with the lowest reported incidence of unwanted side effects.

Iron supplementation can benefit health, but it can also cause iron toxicity and side effects. Humans control iron levels by increasing or decreasing iron absorption in the intestines according to the body’s needs. Iron is excreted at a steady rate and there is no mechanism to increase iron elimination in case of overload. High iron levels can cause tissue damage because iron promotes the formation of free radicals. Toxicity is also a potential problem for infants and children given iron supplements; therefore they generally receive liquid iron supplements.

High doses of iron can be toxic, especially for children. PIC has a low toxicity compared with iron-salt compounds (Klein-Schwartz, 2000). This is calculated as an LD50.

The LD50 of PIC in rats was not established because no deaths occurred during a toxicology study. In children, accidental overdose of iron caused more than 30% of all deaths due to accidental ingestion of drugs between 1983 and 1991 (Manoguerra et al., 2005). In a study of 810 cases of potentially toxic ingestion of PIC that were reported to the American Association of Poison Control Centers, no serious adverse effects were reported for any of these cases (Klein-Schwartz, 2000). This analysis indicates a very low toxicity of PIC compared with iron-salt supplements.

In summary, iron is a crucial nutrient in the maintenance of good health, and some individuals require iron supplementation. Supplemental iron in the form of iron-salts (ferrous fumarate and ferrous sulfate) has unwanted side effects such as epigastric pain, nausea, vomiting, and constipation. Some individuals stop taking their physician-prescribed supplement because of these side effects, which negatively impacts health. A more tolerable iron supplement has been developed that delivers a high concentration of bioavailable iron with reduced or absent side effects; this product is a Polysaccharide-Iron Complex (PIC) that resembles ferrihydrite or the intracellular protein ferritin. FeraMAX® 150 and FeraMAX® Powder (pleasant tasting powder) are a PIC that delivers with virtually no unwanted side effects. Polysaccharide-iron supplements are widely prescribed by physicians to treat anemia, pregnancy-related iron deficiency and pre-term infant anemia, as well as iron supplementation for individuals with gastric bypass or bariatric surgeries, and those receiving dialysis (Johnson et al., 1992; Glassman, 1992; Markowitz et al., 1997; Naude et al., 2000; Zhang et al., 2012). Anecdotal evidence from some of these individuals on health message boards reveals the strong endorsement of PICs such as FeraMAX® by users because of their efficacy, and the absence of unwanted side effects.

References

  • Health Canada website: http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/alt_formats/hpfb-dgpsa/pdf/nutrition/dri_tables-eng.pdf
  • Bereman, R.D., Berg, K.A. (1989) The structure, size and solution chemistry of a polysaccharide iron complex (niferex). InorganicaChimicaActa, 155, pp. 183-189.
  • Beshara, S., Sorensen, J., Lubberink, M., Tolmachev, V., Langstrom, B., Antoni, G., Danielson, B.G., Lundqvist, H. (2003) Pharmacokinetics and red cell utilization of 52Fe/59Fe-labelled iron polymaltose in anaemic patients using positron emission tomography. British Journal of Haematology, 120(5), pp. 853-859.
  • Coe, E.M., Bowen, L.H., Speer, J.A., Wang, Z., Sayers, D.E., Bereman, R.D. (1995a) Therecharacterization of a polysaccharide iron complex (niferex). Journal of Inorganic Biochemistry, 58(4), 269-278.
  • Coe, E.M., Bowen, L.H., Speer, J.A., Bereman, R.D. (1995b) Comparison of polysaccharide iron complexes used as iron supplements. Journal of Inorganic Biochemistry, 57(4), pp. 287-292.
  • Glassman, E. (1992) Oral iron therapy with ferrous fumarate and polysaccharide iron complex. ANNA Journal, 19(3), pp. 277-278.
  • Johnson, C.A., Rosowski, E., Zimmerman, S.W. (1992) A prospective open-label study evaluating the efficacy and adverse reactions of the use of Niferex-150 in ESRD patients receiving EPOGEN. Adavnaces in Peritoneal Dialysis, 8, pp. 444-447.
  • Klein-Schwartz, W. (2000) Toxicity of polysaccharide-iron complex exposures reported to poison control centers. The Annals of Pharmacotherapy, 34, pp. 165-169.
  • Manoguerra, A.S., et al. (2005) Iron ingestion: An evidence-based consensus guideline for out-of-hospital management. Clinical Toxicology, 43, 553-570.
  • Markowitz, G.S., Kahn, G.A., Feingold, R.E., Coco, M., Lynn, R.I.An evaluation of the effectiveness of oral iron therapy in hemodialysis patients receiving recombinant human erythropoietin.Clinal Nephrology, 48(1), pp. 34-40.
  • Melamed, N., Ben-Haroush, A., Kaplan, B., Yogev, Y. (2007) Iron supplementation in pregnancy – Does the preparation matter? Archives Gynecological Obstetrics, 276(6), pp. 601-604.
  • Merriman, T.N. (1994) An acute oral toxicity study in rats with polysaccharide iron complex. Springborn Laboratories Life Science Division Study No. 3340.1, pp. 1-40.
  • Montgomery K.O., Jhaveri, C.R. (1974) Process for preparing an iron-saccharide complex.United States Patent 260/209R, 260/209D, 424/361.
  • Naude, S., Clijsen, S., Naulaers, G., Daniels, H., Vanhole, C., Devlieger, H. (2000) Iron supplementation in preterm infants: A study comparing the effect and tolerance of a Fe2+ and a nonionic FeIII compound. Journal of Clinical Pharmacology, 40, pp. 1447-1451.
  • Pfizer. (2007) Material safety data sheet: Ferrous fumarate.
  • http://www.pfizer.com/files/products/material_safety_data/609.pdf [Accessed 11 December 2012].Teckcominco. (2003) Material safety data sheet: Ferrous sulphate.
  • http://agripacific.com/VendorStuff/MontereyChem/msds/FeSulTCHept1203m.pdf [Accessed 11 December 2012].
  • Zhang, Z.S., Wang, X.M., Han, Z.P., Yin, L., Zhao, M.X., Yu, S.C. (2012) Physicochemical properties and inhibition effect on iron deficiency anemia of a novel polysaccharide-iron complex (LPPC). Bioinorganic Medical Chemistry Letters, 22(1), pp. 489-492.